What Am I Thinking?


The topic of the power of thought has come up for me rather frequently of late, so it seems a fitting topic for a blog post!  Twice now I have given the advice to friends who find themselves in murky waters that something they could try using to change their circumstances is to change the way they think.  Thoughts create our world, create our experience of the physical world around us.  If our thoughts are negative, our experiences will be negative, and sadly these things build on each other.

This notion is still contested.  I know not everyone can agree with this concept.  I, for one, am a believer, and here’s why: in December, I was desperately thinking that I wanted a romance.  For three weeks I concentrated hard for 5 minutes before I went to bed that this would happen, and I concentrated on what I wanted.  Life caught up to me and I slipped from the exercise, but guess what?  Two months later, an old flame gets in contact with me again.  I sent my thoughts into the universe, and my thoughts manifested.  It didn’t happen right away, but that’s not exactly how it works.  Usually it takes time.

I know it can be very hard sometimes to think positively.  Right now I’m doing the most mind-numbing tasks at work and my mind is going absolutely bonkers.  And it’s okay to have negative thoughts now and then.  We can’t be positive every moment of every day.  We are, after all, merely humans.  The light needs the dark, and the positive needs the negative.

If you truly believe that your thoughts create your world, then you can create the kind of world in which you are happier, in which you are more successful because you have more confidence and belief in yourself, and in which you are overall the kind of person you want yourself to be.

All it takes is 5 minutes a day.  This will start helping you concentrate better and get your mind into a habit of thinking this way.  In that five minutes, concentrate as hard as you can on one specific goal (to begin with).  It could be a better job, or a good grade in class, or being more confident with public speaking.  Imagine how you would feel when you finally achieve that goal, because emotions are conveyed more easily than words.  Try to imagine for a full five minutes how it would feel to achieve that goal, how you would act, what you would do.  Example–For grad school, I imagined myself opening my letter and then jumping up and down and screaming like a crazy person because the letter was good.  I imagined that euphoria I would feel, how relieved I would feel.  I don’t know yet if that will come to be since I’m still waiting on my letter, but by creating that thought I hope to make it a reality.  All with 5 minutes a day for as long as I can keep it up, and three weeks is my record.

It takes time, unless you’re already a very disciplined person, to remember to do this and to create this habit for yourself.  And please remember, the universe will not grant something you haven’t earned.  If you’re thinking for a good grade in a class in which you’ve done no work, or for a test you haven’t studied for, then sorry, but no matter how hard you think for it you’re not getting it.  Many things in life require effort, and thinking for them alone isn’t going to make it happen.  I could think about love all I wanted, but if I stayed in the house all the time, how likely would it be that the thoughts would manifest in my life?  The power of thought helps you along, it doesn’t do all the work for you.  I still had to apply for grad school and do all the work associated with that long process.  I couldn’t rely on thoughts alone to make that goal happen, because it doesn’t work that way.  Thoughts are in addition to the work already expended, an extra push.

An excellent resource on this topic– Mike Dooley, author of “Infinite Possibilities: The Art of Living Your Dreams” and a number of other books in which he discusses the power of thought.  I received this book as a Christmas present, it’s wonderful.

Signature unavailable. Sita is working on it!

Leave a Reply

