Crossing the Invisible Line–Harm None?


I know I’ve talked about cursing at least twice.  This isn’t about cursing, not exactly.  This post is more about defining the boundary.  Where does the line get drawn in “harm none”?

For the reasoning behind this post to be understood, you need to know a little bit of the context for why I have chosen this subject right now.  In the past week I have been confronted by a very difficult situation–I was lied to and cheated on by the man I loved.  This, understandably, made me intensely upset.  I cried for two days before I went numb with shock.  I punched my couch.  I wanted vengeance, justice, for the pain that had been caused me.

At first I wanted to put a curse on him.  I seriously considered doing so until a friend of mine said to hold on and think about it for a moment.  All of that energy would come back to me–would I be willing to take that in stride if I cursed him?  Would that be worth the curse?  Or could I let karma take care of him?

My friend’s reasoned questions calmed the initial rage somewhat.  But it brings up a point that I had thought little about before.  Intense emotions such as rage cause a great deal of harm.  When you’re pagan, they can cause more harm, because now you are learning how to employ the energy around you for positive or negative effect.  In my extreme anger, I might have cursed him with all the strength I had, but that would have meant taking on all of the energy in return only three times stronger (the Rule of Three).  I wasn’t prepared for that and felt it would not be worth getting the feedback.

But now I was faced with the question of how to get justice without cursing him.  And where did I want to draw the line between acceptable harm and excessive harm?  Could I even draw such a line?  I feel that some payback is not only acceptable, but necessary.  However, this doesn’t mean I should cause undue harm.  Some people (mainly my friends who know of this situation) maintain that he caused me excessive grief by his actions–therefore I am only right in causing him some trouble in return.  Kind of an agent of karma, if you will.  But castration would be excessive harm (and I agreed–eventually).

In the practice of “Harm None” can there be a line drawn that delineates acceptable harm from excessive harm?  In this practice–which many people would say means you should not intentionally cause harm to anyone, including yourself–what do you do when life hands you these kinds of situations?  Do you stand back and say that although this person harmed me greatly, I can’t turn around and give them equal pain?  Or do you say that if someone harms you it’s okay to return the favor, and the only thing to think on is whether to do so energetically with a curse or physically?

I am unsure yet what I think for certain, but I would be interested in hearing other peoples’ views.  Comments are welcome!

Signature unavailable. Sita is working on it!

One response to “Crossing the Invisible Line–Harm None?

  1. To start with my opinion–harm is harm, just like a lie is a lie. No matter what, harm involves pain just like lies involve dishonesty.

    That being said, it is pretty difficult to go through your day without harming something/one somewhere. When you ate breakfast this morning, you may have had bacon–which involved killing an animal for you to survive. You stepped on grass as you walked to class. You may have not been listening intently to a friend who was talking to you about something they thought was important. All these things “harm” someone; however, you weren’t intentionally harming with malice.

    And there I think is the key-intention. I think harm not has everything to do with your intention. If you intentionally go after someone to harm them, I believe it is crossing a line. I believe that our actions AND magick both (because in reality, our actions are our magick–but that’s another blog post) bare the responsibility of consequence.

    Now–what this is really all about is how comfortable are you with crossing the line. Is it just for pure revenge? Meh–that’s probably not the best time to making decisions; however, all things are gray areas.

    Just realize at the end of all of this–you want to be proud of your decisions–good and bad.

Leave a Reply

