Making Your Own Tools and Jewelry


With all the plethora of tools and jewelry and stuff out there for our buying pleasure, it can sometimes be overwhelming and delightful all at the same time.  I’ll admit, I love to buy jewelry.  It’s pretty and shiny and sparkles in the light.  I can’t resist.

But when I want something meaningful, that’s where it gets tricky for me.  Let’s face it–most of the stuff out there is CRAP.  Sure, we can find a lot of really pretty things that look good, but quality items can be harder to come by.  And when you want something to be meaningful (for example, something you will use in ritual or wear a lot), that desire adds a new dimension.  When looking for meaningful pieces, you don’t want items that will be in discord with your energy.  You want something that will work with you rather than against you.

This is why it can sometimes be a good idea to make your own tools or jewelry.  Now, granted, the majority of us don’t know how to work precious metals or gemstones.  I certainly don’t.  My skills with making jewelry don’t go beyond wire and string and beads.  Do I want to learn the more advanced skills?  Absolutely.  I’d love to make my own pentacle eventually.  It would be the product of my own hands, my own energy and love and labor.  Rather like a child, it would be something I have worked hard to shape and mold into something wonderful, and I would have given it something of myself (even if that’s just my energy–that’s no small thing).

A handmade athame

I certainly don’t know how to work metal to make an athame.  That is so far beyond my knowledge it’s not even funny.  But I think that if I were to make my own tools, they would truly be an extension of myself.  I think I would work with them so much better than with something I bought.

A common tradition in many fantasy stories is to have the mage/swordmaster/etc. make their own tools or staves or weapons.  This is precisely for the reasons above: that item would be a product of the person’s labor, would be a part of them, and would work with them much better than something that had been given to them.

Granted, this is not a fantasy novel we’re talking about, but the principle remains thesame.  Making tools and jewelry can be a more desirable alternative to buying pieces.  The only problem is in gaining the skills to make something useful.

The wand I made years ago

When I made my wand, I had no idea what I was doing.  I mostly moved by what I felt was needed.  I went outside into my backyard and found a fallen stick that looked in good condition and the right length.  I whittled the bark away and smoothed the stick down.  I found a quartz crystal in my stash of stones that looked good on top, so I used hot glue, regular glue, and blue string to bind the stone to the tip.  When it was done, I carved its name into the wood and painted the letters over in green.

I was so happy with the result.  I still am, and I still use that first wand.  It feels like it knows me, and it feels right in my hand–all a product of my loving labor.

If I had the choice, I would make all my tools and jewelry.  Eventually, I hope to do just that.  Until then…I’ll probably keep buying while I look to learn the skills I desire.

4 responses to “Making Your Own Tools and Jewelry

  1. Too true. So much of what I’ve bought because it just seemed easier, doesn’t seem to be of good quality. I’d really like to make my own tools even if I find it daunting. I’m working on it. I’m also an avid thrift store shopper and you’d be amazed by some of the goodies you can find among the shelves and repurpose for use after a good cleansing.

    • Thrift stores are such great places to find unique items for great prices. I love thrift stores! And you’re right, after a (really) good cleansing, most of the things you pick up there could be used for magical purposes.

  2. Making tools is often much simpler then you think. Yes, of course, to craft a fancy athame, it requires a decent bit of tools and some practice, but many tools (such as your wand) really don’t require much at all.

    The only tools I would say one would have great difficulty in creating would be a cup/chalice, a boline (at least a traditional one with bone), and the sword. Everything else can be created from simple enough, and cheap enough bits and be done effectively with minor skill.

    Cauldrons can be created from Clay (and it’s considered allowably by tradition), and if used with the proper clay, you can bake it in the same oven you use for food safely. An athame can be crafted from wood, a few screws, and some scrap metal, and the only thing you’ll need is a file and some paint. Wands and Staffs are simply carved wood, and all you require is a small knife and whatever gems you want, and of course, people have made cloths from scratch for eons.

    Even a pentacle can be crafted by hand with nothing more then a lighter and some brass. If you want to keep it even simpler, you can craft it from copper and you don’t even need any heat source.

    • I would love to make my own pentacle. I’d prefer silver, but I wouldn’t mind copper or brass. I might have to get you to show me how to to that this summer (when I can afford the materials).

Leave a Reply

