My View of 2012


All the talk about the Rapture and the end of the world got me thinking about 2012. It’s coming up in 7 months, and I’m a little surprised I haven’t seen more people freaking out about it.  I know it was kind of a big deal previously, but the only major incident I’ve seen so far has been Camping and his followers.  Not that I’m complaining, mind, I think it’s a bit crazy; but I am rather surprised.  Especially since most people have some kind of opinion about the end of the world and the 2012 calendar, even if it’s just to scoff and say it’s ridiculous.

With Camping moving his date of the Rapture to October 21, I suppose we’ll be hearing more from him and his sad followers, and much nearer to the end of 2011, too.  But I don’t think the apocalypse will happen on December 31, much less October 21.

Mayan calendar (image from Google image search)

I don’t think the predictions about 2012 indicate that the world will end in fire and natural disaster and billions of people dying.  Knowing what little I do about indigenous religions, and the Maya/Aztec/Inca, I don’t think they would have seen the world’s future as ending in that fashion.  Could they conceive of the world being blown up by a massive volcano or torn apart by earthquakes?  Sure.  I see no reason why they couldn’t have thought of that.  But I do think that that sort of thinking is against their worldview, so I don’t think they would have put much credence in any such prophecy.  I do find it credible, however, to think that they would believe in an “end of the world” scenario in which there is a major shift of some kind, just not the kind that leads to death and destruction.

It’s not the end of the world, it’s the end of a world.

Does that make sense?

I think 2012 is not the end of the world.  I think it signals a major shift in planetary energy, in human consciousness, maybe even in human evolution.  It’s the end of the world as we currently know it to be, but not the end of the world like in the traditional Apocalypse fire and brimstone scenario.  I think we’ve already started to experience this shift; look at the great turmoil around the world, whether that turmoil is in human wars, extinction of species and habitats, natural disasters, etc.  Many people are feeling as if there is a surge in the severity and occurence of natural disasters as well as a change in climate patterns, especially in the past two years.

Really, do we need to be hit over the head before we figure it out?  Nature herself is telling us something is changing, and we may not know what it is, but we know it’s happening.  Pagans especially are attuned to this change in the earth’s cycles; many of us have noticed that the climate in our areas has changed just a bit and have commented on it.  I know my area has been having less of a spring and autumn and almost jumping straight from winter into summer or summer into winter.  That’s unusual for this area, not to mention the higher temperatures in the summer and the VERY unusual snowstorms of the last few years (often nicknamed Snowpocalypse or Snowmaggedon, they were that huge and that unusual for us).

So what am I saying?  I’m saying the earth is telling us there is a shift going on.  Do we need to fear it?  Not necessarily.  But we do need to pay more attention, so that when the time comes for us to be able to do something to help, we will be able to do something to help.  I don’t think the world will end in a few months, but I do think there is going to be a shift of some kind in the planet’s energy and in human consciousness that will affect all of us to one extent or another.

Of course, if the world blows up in a fireball, we’ll know I’m wrong and I’ll be partying with all of you in Camping’s “Hell.”

One response to “My View of 2012

  1. Pingback: A One-Two Punch | A Witchy Life

Leave a Reply

