Explaining Metaphysical Beliefs


Last week, I found myself in new territory.  I found myself explaining the concepts of entities and parallel lives to my Christian aunt and uncle.

This all came about because I’m going into business with my mother.  We’re hypnotists, and I will also read tarot and oracle cards, and we’re getting our website and business cards out there.  This prompted the slightly unfortunate, sneak-attack realization that my family would be finding out at last that I am not on the “straight and narrow” Baptist/Presbyterian/other Christian denomination path.  Luckily for me, my aunt and uncle are very open minded people, and asked me intelligent questions with genuine curiosity and a desire to learn what I was doing and what I was talking about.  If only more people could be like my aunt and uncle… but that’s straying from the topic.

I found myself having a surreal moment that day when I was trying to find the right words to explain entities and parallel lives and even past lives to people who are unfamiliar with the concepts.  I almost felt like I was in some kind of parallel world, or having an out-of-body experience.  It just felt odd.

When you stop to think about it, some of these things sound like they come straight from a sci-fi or fantasy book, especially entities.  Things like mediums and channels, entities, parallel lives, even ghosts might sound like whimsy and fancy to people who are being newly exposed.  Hell, when I first heard about entities, I thought the guy was crazy or making it up.  I thought an entity clearing couldn’t possibly be real.  And then I went through one, and got rid of some entities, and I have to say I am now a believer, to a certain degree, in entities and entity clearings.

But trying to explain all of that without sounding like a crazy person… that’s where it gets tricky.  And I can’t say I’ve figured out the best solution for it, other than trying to chose the simplest language possible to make it easier to get meaning across and bridge the belief barriers.  It’s certainly going to be an interesting ride in the next coming months–I’m quite certain I’ll be explaining this more and more and will come up with some kind of shorthand and easier way of relating metaphysical ideas to metaphysical newbies.

Leave a Reply

