More Than Just Sitting


When you think of meditation, what do you think of?  Do you think of the typical sitting on the floor, eyes closed, hands palm-up on knees, breathing deeply?  For the majority of people, I believe this is what they think of when they hear “meditation.”

But meditation can be so much more than just the sitting-down version.  Part of the point of meditation is to calm your mind, yes?  And in a meditative state, a person is generally considered to be “out of it” or otherwise not necessarily present in this reality, yes?

Then a meditative state and calming of the mind can be achieved in any number of ways.  Some people can’t achieve meditation by sitting still.  Maybe their body has too much energy, or they have a bad hip or other body ailment that prevents them from sitting perfectly still in one place for an extended period of time.  The sitting-down variety of meditation may be the most well-known, but it may not work as well for everyone.

For me, at this time, walking is my meditation.  Specifically, walking outside in nature.  Even in winter, I find peace and am able to calm my mind while my body moves automatically.  Especially if I am walking on a familiar route, I can “zone out” and focus and calm my mind.  That works best as my meditation because I find peace and calmness.

Other people say they meditate while doing yoga, tai chi, or qi gong.  Still others say it’s playing a musical instrument.  That one has worked for me before as well, especially when I choose music that I’ve memorized and can play with my eyes closed.  I’m sure there are more varieties of alternate meditation styles out there, but my point is, meditation doesn’t have to be sitting down in a specific position.  It can be, and it can be very effective.  There’s nothing wrong with going the traditional route.  Yet for some, that route simply will not work as well as another route.

How do you meditate?  What do you do to calm your mind?

4 responses to “More Than Just Sitting

  1. Pingback: Observations on Learning to Meditate. « tamingthechameleon

  2. Pingback: Find some inner peace with quiet meditation « Namaste Consulting Inc.

  3. Pingback: A Walking Meditation | Reflections

  4. Pingback: Creating Certainty Through Mental Calm | INNERWEALTH WORK SMART – IMPROVED SELF LEADERSHIP

Leave a Reply

