Pagan Coming Out Day


Today is Pagan Coming Out Day!

The event occurs every year and is meant to provide encouragement and support for those Pagans who choose to be more open about their beliefs.  The movement’s main website is here: http://pagancomingoutday.com/

Coming out of the broomcloset is a big decision.  I’ve written about this before, but I’d like to reiterate some points.  Coming out shouldn’t be done in haste, or out of a sense of revenge against family, to cause a ruckus, or other such motivations.  Coming out can have real repercussions on relationships, safety, and family.  I’m not trying to scare anyone–just offering a reminder that decisions like this need to be thought through.  It’s tough to go back in the closet once you’re out, even out by a little bit.  I was in the closet for a long time.  I still am, to a certain extent, because I know the effect it would have on my family and I am unwilling at this time to change those relationships.  But I would not be able to return fully to the closet now that I’ve got my foot out the door.

I fully support those who make the decision to come out of the closet.  It’s a difficult choice, and I commend those who have the strength and bravery to follow the path they feel is best for them.  I also fully support those who watch this day pass with wistfulness and the thought that maybe one day they will be able to take part.  This, too, is the path that is right for them at this moment in time.

Pagan Coming Out Day seems, to me, to be a day not just of awareness and revealing who you are–it is, at its core, a day of unity and cohesion when all the community should come together and recognize that together we can support each other and change our world for the better.

One response to “Pagan Coming Out Day

  1. This is great to be open and do what you want. It can be applied to any kind of situation and religion. All the best and come out more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

