Store Review: Mysteries (London, England)


Address: 9-11 Monmouth Street, Covent Garden, London WC2H 9EQ, UK
Website: http://www.mysteries.co.uk/index.html
Rating: 4 out of 5

Mysteries has been in London for many years.  I heard of the store both online and through recommendations from locals and other visitors who had been there.  So, when I went to Coven Garden, I decided to check out the store.

Inside, it’s a mixture of so many different things.  Books, crystals and stones, incense, statues and figurines from a variety of different traditions and religions, tarot and oracle cards, jewelery, bags, and so much more.  I could have spent more time in there, honestly, just looking at the wide array of products.

I went in specifically to look for tarot cards, stones, and tools, especially an athame.  I found the stones and cards pretty easily, both in the rooms off the main room.  The store stocked many different decks, but none felt right or really appealed to me, so I didn’t buy a deck this time.  I found the stones, which I did buy, and I liked the selection they had in stock.  They did look like the kind of stones that could be picked up at just about any New Age-type store, but that’s not necessarily bad.  I needed to restock on my quartz stones.

I was disappointed at the lack of tools, however.  If they did stock them, I didn’t see them, and being so close to closing, I didn’t ask about them.  I tried to get back to the store during my stay in London, but unfortunately it didn’t work out.

To be honest, I’m not sure what I expected exactly, but I had been given the impression of a more Pagany kind of store, but it really wasn’t very different from any store in Sedona, AZ.  It has a lot of the basics and does very well in that, and also stocks a lot of interesting statuettes and such from traditions such as Buddhism and Hinduism, but I don’t think I would have found the things I was really looking for, namely, the tools (i.e., cauldrons, athames, wands, etc.).

It’s a decent store, the service was excellent, and the people were friendly.  When crowded, it’s a bit of a squeeze, but that can happen in any store.  So I give the store a 4 out of 5 rating.

2 responses to “Store Review: Mysteries (London, England)

  1. Thank you for your input. Being new to all of this, I have concerns and questions about where to make purchases. Any purchase I make has to be online, as I am disabled and only permitted to go out to see my doctor. I want to make certain I am getting items from trusted sellers. I know energies may feel dif to me than to you, but if I know they are carefully selected and treated sacredly, I will have more faith they will feel “good” on my end.

    • I’m glad you like the review post! I’ll have another one soon for a store in Scotland, and I may do reviews of the shops I visited in Sedona. All have online ordering as well as far as I am aware, but I’ll post a website if they have one.

Leave a Reply

